Eilatanfoto

By Eilatanfoto

What Light Through Yonder Darkness Breaks?

I have always been intrigued by the intertwined nature of the light and the dark (though you may find that hard to believe considering my 'oh my goodness there's a bit of ridiculously bright colour' photographic style). They dance their way, hand in hand impacting on all they touch. Just consider: What would Romeo and Juliet be like without that 'light through yonder window', and what is a Western without a sunset to ride into, or Tatooine without multiple moons, or worse still, any B grade horror without dark rooms in houses and /or caves that require an obligatory torch which may fail at a crucial moment?

I often ponder such things...because I have too much time on my hands, and need to get out more!

This week I was priveleged to go on a dashing adventure with one of my favourite people on (and possibley off) this planet, to see a master of music and light, Amon Tobin and the extrodinary creation 'ISAM'. It was an incredibly intense mixture of light and sound and energy that kept three tiers of adoring fans mezmorised. It really was an awesome thing to be in this room and watch the impact this art had on its audience, to be enveloped by it and experience it first hand....very lucky!!

To my friend (original and new found company), Thank you for the invite, for the laughter and for jumping rather than standing on the sidelines wishing we had gone :)

In homage to this event (no photos, I was too engrossed in what was going on), todays blip is a new sculpture (or bit thereof), from the Light In Winter Festival entering its second week in Federation Square, Melbourne. During the day it is a simple wooden sculpture of no particular impact. However, as the light changes and darkness intervenes, it becomes quite beautiful. (My apologies, I could not locate the title or name of the artist and I'm still pretty average at night shots :).

Additionally, I offer my apologies for lack of comments and responses this week - computer said no! Fixed now, so we're laughing! And yes, the title should read 'window', but I'm definitely no Shakespeare and I wasn't inside, I was definitely outside, and I was definitely enjoying the light and the dark!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.