Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Going for the pretty one

I just couldn't decide on a blip today, so I went with the one that I think is the prettiest.  Nothing fancy - just a common Blue Jay, perched in my Serviceberry tree.  Sometimes the easy shot turns out to be the best choice.  Although it is more typical to see them with their crests raised, this one was apparently feeling quite relaxed and safe.

I was kind of hoping to post my little House Wren, who showed up last night and started the day off with his big, burbling song as he investigated all four nestboxes and did his important wren-things around the yard.  However, he wasn't particularly cooperative because he was far too busy flitting and darting around - as they do.  And, I'm sure I'll have many opportunities to photograph him as the summer unfolds.  

My other option for the day would have been one of the magnificent Rose-breasted grosbeak who started showing up yesterday.  At one point, I counted 5 males and 2 females - a very high number for the yard.  Some will stay in this area to nest while some are probably heading further north.  We've never had them nest on our property - I think they prefer to nest near water - so it's a treat to see them for the week or so that they stick around each spring. And, as an added bonus, a few of the males are starting to sing - such a lovely song!

The numbers of catbirds are also increasing and now they are chasing each other around the yard/woods and doing their rather comical dominance displays.  Oh, how I love springtime on the Lane!

I finally bit the bullet and went to the Motor Vehicle office to get my NJ driver's license and to get Hubs' Mercedes registered.  I have to go back tomorrow to get my Honda registered as I needed one additional bit of paperwork that I lacked today.  Such a pain and I really don't know why we can't have a US driver's license/registration instead of each state issuing them. Seems rather silly.

The Tale of Two Kitties continues ... contact was made last night and a bit of fur flew.  Neither one sustained any injuries, I'm happy to say, but they were both in a bit of a huff afterwards to we separated them again for the night.  This morning, they were both downstairs, giving each other the stink-eye, but otherwise being well behaved.  Silly things.

I'm meeting up with a friend early tomorrow for some birding/photography - same place I went yesterday so we are hoping for more warblers.  At the very least, we'll have a nice walk and visit.

Cheers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.