Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Dad? Dad?? DAD!!!!!

We arrived mid day in Huntsville, visited my FIL's grave, then headed over to see my MIL. After wearing her out with stories and laughs, we ran back to the hotel, then off to get some groceries for dinner. While MIL was napping, I stepped out in her back yard for some fresh air (and very welcome sunshine) and was delighted to find a family of bluebirds!

Father, seen here below, was busy rounding up worms for three fledglings. The unmistakable peeping of begging baby birds was music to my ear - and not just bluebirds but also starlings, house finch and house sparrows. Spent an thoroughly enjoyable half hour outside snapping shots.

This was my favorite - the backstory is that papa worked extremely hard to get a very reluctant worm out of the yard, while baby blue waited anxiously on the fence. The handoff was made (I missed it) and then junior tried to eat the worm...and tried...and tried. The worm finally escaped and dropped several inches where Papa immediately got it and gave it a couple of good whacks. Once ensuring that it was properly subdued (seen here) he handed it off to junior (I will try to put that in Extra). What fun!

We had a great dinner with my MIL and SIL before calling it a day and returning to the hotel.

More visiting tomorrow and I also plan to get out to a local spot for some hiking and photography. Temps should be in the 70's tomorrow - glorious!

Thanks for the unexpected response to yesterday's sweet donkey! And thanks also for keeping my little fox kit on the front page of popular. I'm honored.

Limited comments from me, as I know you'll understand.

Toodles
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.