Dick's Pics

By RichardDonkin

Mobile people

How it used to be. 

I don't know about you, but I'm struggling to get on with this new regime, you know, the Polaroid blip thing. It's not the white surround that bothers me, but the mechanics that have lost something that worked very well in the original. It was relatively easy to track people in the past, but not any more...or maybe it's just me.

Then there was the homely relationship with Blip Central where people listened and got back to you - all gone.

Then there's the Scottish thing, so much a pillar of Blipfoto. I've been a bit bothered by the Scottish thing this past week or two, not so much Nicola Sturgeon, who has conducted herself well in the general election campaign, but by some of the rowdies who have attached themselves to her banner. I'm feeling some of the unpleasantness  in Scottish nationalism that I've seen in the worst kind of English nationalism - boorish behaviour and a distinct lack of tolerance.

What a blustery day it was. I enjoy playing with the settings on this camera and I've added a shot of the National Theatre, taken on a vivid setting and, yes, straight-out-of-the-camera. I've always regarded that little phrase as a bit of meaningless nonsense that suggests a camera with the "correct" settings, whatever they may be, is giving a "true" picture. Our eyes - far more sophisticated than any camera - are constantly adjusting for light and shadow and depth of field and, of course, are binocular. So what the camera sees can not be what we see. Now we have cameras that can see what we might see in our imagination. I love that. 

I wonder if these chaps are freemasons, not far from the Grand Lodge here and that bag has a coat of arms on it; been to the Toye shop perhaps.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.