Now that I have your attention ...

... I'll be on my way.

I heard the calling of the kotare as I was heading along the bank of the Meola creek. This one rested on a branch in good view, and remained there for long enough that I could organise a better than average photo. It then continued on, flying away from me and further away from the creek.

As I had heard the call from the other side of Meola Creek, I suspect that it was attempting to draw me away from mate, and possibly chicks. They have excellent vision, and usually, they are gone as soon as I move a muscle within 50 m of them. Here, I was much closer and it waited a while before darting off.

I enjoyed my run down by the creek and by the Western Springs Lake. First run there in more than two months. Black swans, ducks, pukeko, geese, Australasian coots, sparrows, gulls, blackbirds and more. I have added as an extra, a photo of a black swan.

I needed this run quite late this afternoon, as I'd spent the morning and half the afternoon on emails, tax, bills and emails. Tucked away in the study, with no natural light except what makes it down the short hall from the main room and the deck.

Later I went to the office for the first time in many weeks. Nothing has changed fortunately. One pot plant had been blown over during the storm of three or so weeks ago. I met up with a representative of a company which has managed to insert itself between the insurance companies and the clinicians on the promise of added security in transmitting information each way. I had to be taught how to access the information, then send my report by way of this company, and also how to send the invoice. To them, not to the third party payer. I feel vaguely and almost irrationally uncomfortable about this process.

Later I met with a colleague who is interested in renting the office space for a number of days a week. As my plan is to be spending relatively little time there (what with doing locums), it makes good sense for me to do this. Looks likely that we can reach agreement.

Feeling very tired after a day over a computer screen. Hope to catch up with everyone shortly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.