Why did I come in here?

By Bootneck

Come to me my precious..

Have a look at lunch

Let out by myself for a very short bimble today. I had fitted the 55-200 lens in anticipation of spotting anything! Suddenly I noticed this web which had been soaked by last night's rain. In the middle was a tiny spider which froze as soon as it sensed me watching. I was unable to see from a yard away that it was unpacking lunch.

As soon as I moved away the spider ran out onto the edge of the leaf so I moved back. It then rolled itself into a perfect little ball and rolled back beneath the protection of the web. Blip really does make us look more closely at the world around us.

I thank Dennis Lack, art teacher par excellence at Aylesbury Grammar School in the 60s. On my first visit to Oxford as part of an Architecture course he had devised he looked at the four of us and asked, "What do you see?" We looked around and described everything at street level. He then simply said, "No, look up." Our eyes were opened, mine have certainly remained open to the things around me since that moment. Thanks Dennis. (he is probably dust by now)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.