Newme

By Newme

Today's challenge...

I've decided that today is going to be my creative day! I've picked 4 random things and decided to try and challenge myself a little bit further with at least one of them.

So today, the 4 things are:
-learn how to take a manual photo on DSLR (no presets)
-draw something
-continue with my online Italian lessons
-sign up for an Open University course

Well, I've tried drawing but I can't seem to find inspiration today because I'm having a bit of a bad medication day. Ive spent the morning reading about my little Nikon D60 (I'd love a better camera but you work with what you've got!) and about to settle down for an hour or two on Rosetta Stone.

The pinnacle of my day is signing up for a GREAT degree course! I've always wanted a degree but coming from a working class immigrant family, going to university just wasn't an option. You didn't even talk about it as it was SO DISTANT. The men went to work on the building site, the women became nurses. That was your choice.

Like many from my generation, I broke free from this predetermined path and did my own thing but still worked. I regretted not going to university because I LOVE studying and learning new things. However, knowing me at that age, I'd probably would have just got drunk a lot and wasted the opportunity.

Well today I signed up for a I.T, Computing and Psychology degree. It sounds weird but it fits in with my long term plan of helping people, especially those hard to reach, through technology. As an English student we have to pay through the nose for this honour but a dreams a dream and I'm going to follow it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.