Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Steaming!

Bank Holiday Monday and a day-trip to the South Tynedale Railway in Alston, Cumbria. 

I have a friend who is a narrow-gauge steam railway enthusiast and I asked him a few weeks ago what his plans were for the Spring Bank Holiday weekend. When he said he was planning to go down to Alston I asked if I could tag along, so off we went.

The railway had a special weekend planned for the return of their 'Barber' engine to operation and, even though I know very little about these things, there seemed to be a bigger buzz about the place than on my previous visits.

It stayed dry and bright, if not as sunny as forecast, and - aided by a pleasant pub lunch nearby - we had a most enjoyable day out. Life is good!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.