Far from the Madding Crowd

Today's the day .......................... to be abandoned

I don't want you to get the idea that we only go to watch films with Carey Mulligan in - but she did happen to be in the one we went to tonight - Far from the Madding Crowd.

As yet, I'm a bit undecided about what I thought of this new version of the Thomas Hardy story.  I was an avid reader of his books when I was younger - and, of course, I was deeply impressed with the Julie Christie, Peter Finch, Alan Bates, Terence Stamp film in 1967.  Too many dodgy accents and dialogue that wasn't quite right - is my initial impression, but it wasn't all bad by any means.

We were just on our way out of the Brewery Arts Centre when we ran into quite a few of Will's buddies from Burgundy's.  They had come to hear Courtney Pine who was just about to perform in one of the other rooms.  They thought that was why Will was there - and it didn't take long for him to turn that wrong assumption into fact.

So I find myself, abandoned at the drop of a hat, home alone ............................     

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.