Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Tree Peony

This is the center of a tree peony blossom. I have had this thing, which has flowers that are basically very like the standard peony, but on a woody stemmed deciduous rather bush-like plant. I bought it at the nursery they have at Monticello - home of Thomas Jefferson - possibly as many as 15 years ago. I was with my mother - we were in the habit of going out together once a week when she was living at a retirement place in Charlottesville. I bought the plant because she had one in her garden that I loved. She died in 2005 -  just a month shy of 91 - and my half of her ashes (my brother and I divided them!) were spread around this plant. It's usually blooming around the time of her birthday (May 2) so it very much is her in my mind. Coincidentally, little Charlotte - the newest Royal - was born on May 2nd!

The extra photo is of the same blossom.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.