Mehitabel

This is Mehitabel in a quiet mood. So often she is acting like her nickname, the wild child, but not this morning. We are all a bit off kilter since I got up at 5 am to take Helena to the airport. The kitties are not used to having any humans up and around until 8 am or after. It was sad saying goodbye to Helena. We had such a great visit together. I miss her already. Her dad got up at 5:30 to say goodbye and now he's sound asleep upstairs. I'm not good at getting back to bed so I'm here at my computer.

Helena's last day we spent peacefully. We went to The Willows, a retirement complex where my mother spent her last years, to hang a show of my paintings. The opening is tomorrow. Then we went to the Bellingham Farmer's Market. Helena really loved that. We've got a great market with yummy local food and artisans with pottery, jewelry and other goodies. Helena and I both bought earrings.

When we got home I took a walk up to Big Rock Garden to check on "my" hummingbirds. The baby is getting really big. The sun was shining and I was able to take another video of the mother and baby. This time she fed him/her twice while my camera was there. I was away talking with some rambunctious folks in a different area of the park. I watch very carefully when I'm filming the hummers to be sure nobody takes advantage of the knowledge of their presence. I admit I pick and choose who I show the babies. Running kids, no. Quiet ladies and teenager painting, yes.

Arvin, Helena and I went out to On Rice for yummy Thai food. We go to the one on Barkley and the food is always good. There were lots of left overs. Steve came over and ate some after a long bike ride and we all played games until bed time. It was a great day.

Now Helena is in the air towards Seattle and then Boston. This afternoon Arv and I will be attending the Whatcom Chorale concert. I used to sing in that group and Steve's lady Kai sings in it now. I'm looking forward to hearing them.

Then a quiet evening. Can't say I'll regret that. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.