Who will be living here tomorrow?

I was in London today with my friends G & M and happened to pass Downing Street after visiting Banqueting House and on the way to see Romeo and Juliet at the Globe.  So I thought I'd take a quick snap of the Downing Street sign to mark election day (apologies for the quality).  It was interesting watching the press setting up their cameras, even though it was only 12:30.

It was also interesting to hear how Charles I was executed on a scaffold outside Banqueting House that he accessed through one of the windows.  Charles I believed that by the royal prerogative he could govern without the advice and consent of Parliament, and he did not call for a new one for 11 years after dissolving the last one.  He was beheaded on 30th January 1649.

I wonder how long it will take to form a new government this time?

PS: I thoroughly enjoyed Romeo & Juliet, it was an excellent production.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.