Penguin Droppings

By gen2

Predator and Prey

This afternoon, I watched a hoverfly that was spending a lot of time going from leaf to leaf rather than from flower to flower. I realised that it was seeking out somewhere to lay its eggs and when it found a leaf with aphids on, it laid an egg. it then returned twice more leaving a total of three eggs on the same leaf.

Here is one of its eggs right beside a green aphid which will become its prey once it hatches (unless I dispose of the weed first (bindweed)).

I haven't identified the species of hoverfly yet but you should be able to see the proud mum shortly if I can figure out how to upload an extra image for today (if not, then I'll put it in the Blipfolio instead).

Here it is now in my Blipfolio
http://www.blipfolio.com/gen2/miscellaneous#mother
It told me I already had an image for this date when I tried to add an extra :-((

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.