Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Duke in Jubilee Mood!

In Jubilee mood, we wandered round to a local cafe for breakfast. And there was nothing suitable in the house, anyway.

Have you noticed how loud posh some people are? They talk very very loudly, because I suppose they want everyone to know that what they're talking about is always very very important and the whole cafe shouldn't miss a word...

From there we wandered through the Meadows car boot sale Festival, which was just getting going. The sun wasn't out, and let's just say that the ice cream man wasn't doing a brisk trade! The band started up. It was not a type of music I recognised. Loud and twangy and shouty. I could hear them from my flat - it was as if a very loud party was starting up in the flats opposite. Amazing how the sound travels and bounces off buildings. Lady Findhorn timed her departure to Orkney well - the stage was right outside her house! I wonder if everyone in Quartermile departs when events are on in the Meadows... Still, they drowned out the Big Ish-oo seller!

Popped into the new bookshop/cafe in Quartermile. It's lovely. But one wonders how they will fare, when high street bookshops are struggling, and they have folk passing all the time. This one is tucked away, and you really need to know it's there. I wish them luck.

Back home via the Meadows car boot sale Festival. Spotted a couple of police horses about as far away as they could go from the noise music. Yes! It was jackjack, on Henry, not Kensie this time. Henry didn't like the noise music. Henry has taste. Told jackjack again that she has the best job in the world, and she agreed. She said they were recruiting four more police riders. I offered my services and she took note of my enthusiasm, but forgot to ask what qualifications I have to become one. But I do hope they don't contact me, because my horse riding days are long gone. The stirrup was about my shoulder height. How can anyone but a contortionist get their foot up that high?

Lots and lots of lovely dogs. The Dogs Trust was there and there were demonstrations of very good doggie behaviour. Maud and Mollie Collie would have loved to have been there! The organisers may not have appreciated them, though...

But my blip is of Duke. He looks sad. Very sad. But he isn't. He's happy. He's full of the joys of spring. Just has a sad face. And he gets fed up with people thinking he's sad.

Came home and accidentally watched most of the flotilla down the Thames, apart from a big snooze in the middle. Brits do pageants well. Pity they didn't have the lovely sunshine that eventually appeared here. I do hope Queenie had her thermals on!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.