Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

It's beach weather. Almost.

The choice this morning was to fill in the 20 page Pensions claim that has eventually come, or take a wee trip to the beach. The sun was shining, so I chose the latter. In fact, it got quite warm and summer-ish and was able to take my hat, scarf and jacket off!

I haven't been to Cramond for ages. My bus goes right there, so it's a great trip (top front) looking into gardens and houses all the way. No people shouting on their mobiles either!

I went a walk out to the island, as I the tide was out. There was a chart there for safe crossings (and coming back) but of course I didn't look at it. The tide was out enough to expose the pathway and there were loads of folk on it. Half way across, it became apparent that most of the folk on the pathway were coming towards me. One woman did say to me that the tide was coming in fast, so I decided the island was for another day. And I'd check the tides first.

These two kids were walking back, deep in conversation. I can't recall what it was about, but at the time I remember thinking that they were putting the world to rights. Adults were a bit behind them, giving me time to swirl around and quickly take a back view of them sorting everything out. I saw them later down at the river, hand in hand, still deep in conversation. Sweet.

The cafe at beach front was doing a good business, and I had a Very Good Scone. Loads of families, dogs, cyclists and walkers out for the day. I should list all the breeds of dogs, as I can never list any birds or plants I see.

One woman had to clean up a great big poo-ey mess that her large labrador made right in front of everyone in the cafe. Remind me never to lust after a big dog!

Bus back to my front door, almost. Actually, the front door of a convenient shop that sells Magnum Classics. I have a little rule, that I've just made up. If it's warm enough not to be wearing a hat, and if the local hooligans school students aren't marauding about, and if I happen to have actual money on my person (and not just my bus pass and My Lounge in the City card) then I can have a Magnum Classic.

So all in all, a very good day. But now I must at least LOOK at this 20 page form for my pension.

Or else I could just look at a few 'How to..' videos on You Tube...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.