Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Thanks for the holiday, Liz!

Jubilee holiday, so JR and I met up with Leo and his mum at Cramond. I'd had such a lovely scone day yesterday there, I suggested we meet up if it was a nice day.

Wee Leo was fair taken with the planes and the ducks and the dogs and other children's toy bikes. The adults were fair taken with the scones. We had a wander up the River Almond (and discovered another cafe with scones!).

There was a family of mum duck and nine ducklings, who were determined to go upstream. They negotiated the rocks and the currents and made it to the calm bit. Those wee ducklings are very agile, jumping up steep rocks no bother. And they fair skim across the water at high speed when they need to. Mum kept waiting for stragglers and kept them all together.

I was too slow to get what would have been the blip of the day. A Canada Goose flew in from nowhere, and landed on the fence just ahead of us, by a mother and young boy. It then jumped down and proceeded to attack them! The mother had to really yank the boy away from it. Amazing. I'm sure that wee boy will have nightmares! I've got a blurry photo that I won't insult you with.

There was an impressive waterfall further up the river. And a silly person went in with a young girl and walked along the edge. He kept slipping. As we wandered off, we heard a scream. Yes, he had jumped over the waterfall. I assume he had done it before and knew it was deep enough. He climbed up and jumped again. Another blurry photo to bin!

Back home on the bus, like, and a group of, like, young people, like, who talked like this, like, the whole time. Like.

Is that more annoying than people shouting on a mobile phone? Mmmm. About as annoying as the modern trend to say, 'We were sat there' 'I was stood there' etc. I shall have to make a list of annoying things. Or else go and live on a desert island, but I don't think I'd last long there.

I took lots of photos of Leo and his mum, and I'll print out some for her. I put a similar shot to this in my folio yesterday, after nearly choosing it for my blip. The clouds early on in the day were wonderful. So while JR and Z had a gossip about work (something I can't join in with - lucky me!!) I took a wander to the pathway to the island again. I spotted a woman with an airedale dog (I love their profiles) away ahead of me on the upper pathway, and thought it would make a good photo. So I actually RAN along the lower pathway to get past her!

The things we do for blip!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.