Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Next Please

Terrible cramp in my calves all night. Could hardly walk this morning. A new ailment? No, I soon realised it was my workout on the cross trainer that was to blame. It was avoided this morning!

Uncle A did not want to go shopping this morning, so I spent much of it doing housework browsing camera websites, as indeed I have been doing for a week or so. I have realised that I don't want/need/ an even bigger and better DSLR costing a small fortune, as I'd want/need bigger lenses as well.

No - a top of the range Compact Camera would be a better idea. Much better for those Easyjet flights with just a small on-board suitcase, which once I've got my camera gear in, only fits a spare pair of knickers and my jammies.

I had my wishlist, including a flip out screen (which I've loved on the 600D and don't want to do without), plenty of AF points, useable zoom, suitable burst mode, EVF, good ISO range, decent sensor etc etc. I got so bogged down, as I'd find one with most things, then another one with some things and not the other. Of course, the ones with everything (well, not the flip out LCD) were about £1000...

And so I went down to JL, my favourite store - which doesn't play screechy pop muzak to enhance my shopping experience - and asked to see Francis again. He'd given me such good advice last time, I wanted to read him my list and see what he came up with.

Well, he came up trumps. He spent ages with me, demonstrating a camera that I was so impressed with that I bought it. It wasn't any of the ones I'd drooled over. It's better. AND it's much much cheaper. About a year's subscription to Edinburgh Leisure. I'll get it on Friday!

The only photo I took today was of this 'yarn bombing' that Limoniad blipped the other day. Sorry for pinching it, L, but it's such a brilliant thing to do. And I was surprised it was still there! I just LOVE the sentiment.

Just don't get me started...

EDIT: ' Imagine what we could have done with £1 billion' is, of course, a reference to the infamous Edinburgh tram debacle.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.