BrightNBreezy1

By BrightNBreezy1

Darting duck

The weekly grocery shopping today and I also bought yet more plants to keep the others, waiting to be planted, company!

Had another lovely lunch out which was fun and then called in at the local library where I found Carluccio's simple cookery book. I can see me making some vegetarian pastas for Ms BNB1 over the next few days. I may even rouse the pasta machine out of its pristine never-been-used state.

Dropped a birthday card off for my friend's son - he started infant school at the same time as my eldest so they are all turning 25 this year. Impossible!

On my way out,  the heron was disturbed from the village pond and flew over my head so I decided to try to photograph it on the way home. Actually I've never known such a cautious heron and it had disappeared again. I thought I'd try out the macro lens on the tadpoles/dragon flies/pond skaters that were bound to be in the pond - nope! With the macro lens on, I missed the gorgeous little coot chicks which scuttled away into the reeds. I'm clearly no David Attenborough!

Anyway, this rather large duck was lying on the grass behind me so out came the phone camera! As soon as he saw it he shook his head (as though to say no) and bolted for the pond with his harem waddling behind him. (Actually I must look into the camera phone settings - not happy with the quality)

I decided to call it a day by then so home for a glass of something chilled while cooking dinner, then out with Ms BNB1 to vote at her first general election.

Pleasing news in the evening when son No.2 received an email from the James Dyson Foundation who had looked at his end-of-uni project and recommended he submit it for the James Dyson Award! Whether or not anything comes of it, this was a real boost of confidence for someone who doubts his own abilities! :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.