Between Counts

I arrived at the stadium last night at 9 pm - fantastic sunset.

I was there until 5.50 am - the verification of the national and local polls, and the count for the general election. Three MP's elected - Barbara Keeley re-elected for Worsley and Eccles, Rebecca Long Bailey succeeding Hazel Blears for Salford, and Graham Stringer re-elected for Blackley and Broughton (a seat shared with Manchester). Average turn-out 58%, although 71% (the highest in the City) for the ward I was responsible for. No pressure.

Lovely weather on my return home. Cup of tea and 3 hours sleep, then back to the stadium for the local count at 12 pm, leaving at 4.00 pm in very heavy rain. This photo was taken on my arrival - before most others.

It all went well, Salford does this stuff very professionally. As for the national result, well ............

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.