Dehy

Trampers/hikers/trekkers talk about dehy (short for dehydrated).

It's a lightweight option for carrying food. With summer like weather and home again today with my miserable cold, I took the opportunity to dehydrate some home grown apples I was given.

The time consuming bit is slicing and laying them out on the trays. I don't bother with peeling. Depending on the temperature and humidity that take approximately 6-8 hours to dehydrate. During that time I swap the order of the trays around and remove the slices that are ready. Quite a few get eaten during this process in the interest of consumer testing ;-)

I store mine in airtight plastic containers. Roughly 8-10 dehydrated slices are the equivalent to a fresh apple, at a fraction of the weight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.