Flitting around

I had an enjoyable run this morning after sleeping past the sunrise. The sun was still low, and I have added a couple of pleasing photos I was able to get down at the south end of Snells Beach.

After breakfasting with the aid of the Saturday Herald, I have spent the day reading agenda papers for the meetings next week in Wellington.

Mid morning my attention was caught by distinctive chipping on the banks outside. Sounded to me like a Piwakawaka (fantail). Picked up the camera and went outside to spot (I think) the tail disappearing in the direction of the neighbouring property. Instead of piwakawaka, I saw a small flock of Tauhou (Silvereyes), including this one which was enjoying what seemed to be play on the remnants of a dead tree. This is a small bird; total body length is just 12 cm.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.