Mallard

Walking still didn't seem like a good idea, so I sat on a bench by Spring Lake while OilMan went around the circuit with Ozzie. I've learned an important thing about taking pictures of birds since I've been grounded. If you sit quietly in one place, the birds soon get used to you and go about their business as if you weren't there.

This mallard looked especially elegant sitting on the water observing the scene., oblivious to a kayak class going on in the grass behind us with people incongruously sitting in their boats in wet suits and life jackets with paddles. There was only one thing missing….The mallard had the right idea, effortlessly letting the water gently rock him.

Will and his friends since kindergarten are all going to the high school prom tonight together…sort of a dress rehearsal for next year when they will be seniors and will probably be going with dates of the feminine persuasion. Jim and I went along to one friend's house, where they all congregated and allowed us to take their pictures. All I could think about was the pictures I have of these same young men dressed as the three blind mice for Halloween in first grade, after their 6th grade graduation and before the junior high school dinner dance. They are are a really nice group of friends who have shared a lot of experiences together over the years... and where have those years gone so quickly?

I posted a picture of them in a light moment as an extra picture.
Update: I just posted another pic of the posing boys for Barrioboy

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.