Bom

By Bom

Mad as a March Hare

I said I'd be doing a blip sooner or later of the bronze of boxing hares that I purchased at Living Crafts the other day - it turned out to be sooner!  I would love to capture this scene for real - I'll make it a priority for next Spring.

I live near Olney and last year visited the Cowper & Newton museum dedicated to these hymn writers (Amazing Grace) and to Cowper's work as a poet.  What I didn't know until this visit, was that to commemorate that Cowper lived in Olney, there is a weathervane in the Maket Place of a silhouetted quill pen and a hare.  The pen obviously reflects his writing, but the hare refers to his love of hares.  He actually kept three as pets: Puss; Bess; and Tiney (I think I'll call the two in the photo Bess and Tiney).  Hopefully this means I can still find some hares to photograph locally!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.