Life is a Minestrone !!

By bererunner

Fort Brockhurst

Fort Brockhurst is one of the Palmerston Forts  in Gosport. It is now an English Heritage  property.

Fort Brockhurst was designed by William Crossman in the 19th century to protect Portsmouth. With its formidable firepower, its main purpose was to guard the approach from potential landing areas on the south Hampshire coast.

Although modern life has encroached on the fort, its fabric remains largely unaltered and the parade ground, gun ramps and moated keep can all be viewed. Constructional details of the casemates are able to be seen due to unrepaired second world war bomb damage at the North-East corner. The site is occasionally open to the public, under the auspices of English Heritage.

This is my first aerial shot taken this afternoon at around 6pm. This is my stamping ground, as I live directly across the road from the fort. I’m actually making a cameo in this image, my car is the left hand vehicle in the bottom right hand corner, and the small dot in the road, well that’s me, hello everyone.

If you look at the moats edge just above my car and follow it along towards the large lorry, you come across two white dots on the moats edge, those are the Swans I mentioned here on blipfoto a couple of weeks ago, unfortunately still no signets.

The fort used to be open to the public pretty much every day, but i can’t remember when last it was open, they used to hold firework displays and the occasional music festival, they’re just memories now.

j.

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.