A wild orchid chase...

The dogs and I spent the morning walking round Twyford Wood in Lincolnshire, an interesting area of ancient woodland, plantation and limestone grassland, intersected by the runways of the Second World War North Witham Airbase. It was one of those still, grey days and I hardly saw anyone else there. I have to say that it had a rather eerie atmosphere, as though all the planes and air-force personnel had just walked away.

I had gone to see if I could find green-winged orchid, which had been recorded there some time ago. I failed with that task, but found a really wonderful area of species-rich grassland with a good number of magnificent magenta pink southern marsh-orchids Dactylorhiza praetermissa growing in the damper hollows. The grassland will look quite spectacular in a couple of weeks or so, with heaps of quaking grass, ox-eye daisy, bird's-foot-trefoil, kidney vetch, small scabious, common knapweed and common mouse-ear. Our walk was somewhat longer than anticipated, as I muddled my left and right, and ended up walking away from the car instead of back towards it!

The rest of the afternoon just seemed to disappear, though we did go out and buy some bunting and sparklers ready for the street party on Monday. I just hope the weather forecast improves a bit!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.