TrishaR

By TrishaR

Polylimnio Waterfalls

The highlight of today, apart from simply just wakening up to the view from the villa which I could never tire of, was a trip to the Polylimnio Waterfalls, near Haravagi. They aren't very well known, actually, most of this Region is unknown to many people. I think one person I work with knew of the Messinia Region of the Pelops, but that's fine with me, it's part of its charm that it's undeveloped. We laughed that there was no sign from the road guiding you to the Waterfalls, but when in the small village about 1 mile from the road, there was big blue signs at every corner!! Funny! Sometimes, sights don't live up to their hype, but not this. It's a green paradise, set in a gorge, with streams creating big ponds with waterfalls at different points and at the top the daddy of the waterfalls , like the Falls of Brahn, but green. With all the greenery and trees cascading into the water it produces a dreamy mystical effect.... Beautiful..

After reviving in the village taverna we had a wander through the village . I stopped to admire the garden of a lady who was tending her flowers and when she saw me looking I said Poli Kala, she then picked of a rosebud and presented it to me with a big smile. I gestured, could I take her photo with my camera and she was happy to do this. Lovely lady.

Decided to drive down the east coast towards Koroni, a very pretty large town with a castle overlooking the Ionian Sea. Sat at the waterside eating Cakes and Caffe Frappe then went on a photo wander through the streets, which were pretty quiet.

Back to the Villa for a recharge sitting by the pool and out for a later dinner in Gialova. Exhausted!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.