Violets in the Stones

I love the wild violets who shoot their seeds everywhere, if they are allowed to grow on.
We are catching up with the rest of English gardens by having what I guess we would call: 'unseasonably warm" weather.   But after a record breaking winter and now a record breaking spring... one begins to wonder what is in store for us?.
We did NOT get the promised rain last night (again). Does not bother the lilacs that are just budding out or the violets whose roots are cool under the stones. But the garden soil is dusty dry. I cannot plant a lot of baby seedlings out. 
I just got my rain barrels repaired-- so they stand empty.
85F/29ºC today with no rain. Just one day with rain is predicted for tomorrow.
This really is like summer weather. We usually get rain every three or four days. Not 'drought" type people.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.