pooba.gingernut

By QuerkyPoo

CASPIAN TERN (Taranui)

There are a few Caspian Terns around that can normally be seen fishing around the Estuary areas at High Tide, which it was this morning before a nasty thundery SW came in after lunch.  I caught this one diving a couple of times  but was happiest with this pic as the catch is clearly seen.  Its quite a big (little) Herring ( if you know what I mean )
As it was a nice morning I got out a folding chair and perched myself on the bank by the New brighton bridge, there was quite a bit of activity and its always surprising what happens when you just sit quietly.  Birds dont like walking type movement but are very tolerant where there is no movement.  I had another couple which ( if you're interested) can be seen as Extra Pics,  Both of Pukeko(swamp hens) One is caught flying which they dont often do. The other on a lonely little island.
rgds poo

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.