Resistance was futile

A scene which may could have come from the original Star Trek series. Certainly, I find myself quite unable to go past my third sunrise photo in a row. They are all different, even though, like yesterday, this one does involve the Skytower. (This is as it came from the camera)

Normally, when I have to travel to Wellington to Council meetings, the time I have to leave for the airport preludes a run. This morning, we had a later flight (by two hours) because of a light agenda at today's meeting. I enjoyed a pleasant run, got this photo as well as an extra. 

The extra is of readers in a cafe on Ponsonby Road (at Three Lamps). The four persons reading over coffee (with or without food) before work appear to be reading a newspaper, a magazine, some papers (? for a meeting) and a device. 

The trip to the airport showed me why I have always resisted commuting with the traffic. I took 10 minutes to travel half the distance to the airport, and then ran into the work traffic (not caused by the roadworks we were notified about by a sign over the motorway; they weren't working at that time of the morning, and by the time we reached that part of the road, the travel was smooth). Nevertheless the second half of the trip took 45 minutes. 

Because weather had delayed the arrival of the plane I was on, I did actually have time for another coffee. A good meeting today, and a pleasant meal in the hotel with colleagues this evening. Second day of meeting tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.