Textures Tuesday: Shattered Glass

Well this certainly wasn't on my blip-horizon this morning!  I was in town to pick up a few bits and pieces to take away on holiday when I came across a shop front with two huge panes of glass completely shattered.  It was quite an impressive sight as the glass stretched from ground level right up to the top of the shop front!

There is nominal barrier between the public and the glass but I started ti take some pictures.  A couple of workmen were standing close by and I got talking to them.  Apparently, the damage was caused by extreme heat - very warm during the day as it's within a covered area and very cold at night.  Each glass panel is very tough and thick glass laminated on both sides so that the glass does not fly around when damaged and costs about £18,000!  Not the sort of replacement panel you can pick up in B&Q!

I suppose it's an insurance claim as it will be a while before the panes are replaced.

My image is one of the window models still smiling and showing the whole pane beside the shattered one.  I have added a couple of other images to show the damage.

I forgot to remind everyone about Wide Angle Wednesday with the theme of Odd...... Tag widwed11

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.