Striped Hawkmoth

I am suddenly a celebrity! I was thrilled to find this very handsome moth, Striped Hawkmoth, in my light trap this morning. I got some photos, as it was one I hadn't seen before, and released it. On checking the books I discovered it is quite a rare migrant and usually found along the south coast rather than this far inland. I posted my find on the local mothing blog and went to do some surveying at the nature resrve. On my return, the moth recorder for Bucks was trying to contact me. It was a really special find - less than 8 recorded in the county and some of those back in the 1800s; many of the top moth-ers green with envy; the first record this year for the UK; a chap from Essex desperate to drive up to see it. I just thought it was a really handsome moth!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.