pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

A day of firsts?

We had a few firsts today! 

First first, I left the house before Henry - and caught the 7.45 p&r bus. Second first, Henry left in time to lock up, and catch the bus on his own. It may not seem like a big deal, but it is a step towards trusting the bus company to do their job. And him gaining confidence and independence.

I was at work by 8.05 the earliest I've been! That's the third first of the day! I had lots of things I wanted to do, and had in my head to get done quickly. As usual, there were not enough hours in the day, but knowing I had to leave at 4, meant my day was shortened from the start!

4pm came quickly and so to my fourth first. I had to drive to a random spot between Norwich and Cambridge, to pick up Mollie. Depending on the length of time it was going to take to get out of Norwich, would made the difference of an hour or 2 on my journey, as Jon was only able to meet me mid way, if he could be guaranteed to get home for 7pm. Thanks to a new work friend, who knows all the roads in Norwich (or maybe even Norfolk) I had a route to skirt around Norwich to try. It seemed as if i was going a long way round, but I did it, and only went wrong once (adding 3 minutes each way to my journey), and in the process saw a bit more of some Norfolk villages and country lanes.

Once on the A11, I was 40 minutes from our rendez-vous at the Mildenhall roundabout....well, the lay by. They beat me by 10 minutes, but all was good and Mollie and her baggage, and two boxes of crickets, were transferred from his car to mine. A quick hug, and we were all on our way again.

Swaffham McDonalds was not a first. We've done it loads, but I wasn't planning to cook when I got home! So fast food on a school night.

We got home at dead on 8pm. I was pleased. I'd left the office at 4.10pm so managed the round trip in under 4 hours. 

H was doing homework. A quick catch up. Collected an egg from the hens (who have had 2 days without an escape....must keep an eye on them. I know a Great Escape takes planning)

Now we are back together, what else when you have AS level exams, but a new Wasgij to chill out with. 

And my final first of the day? Taking this photo using the self timer on my new camera.......we will keep practicing this one!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.