Grandpont Nature Park – 7.45 on 12 May 2015

2 hours 29 minutes after sunrise.

Week 19 (week 18, backblipped)

The series

It’s early, it’s raining for the first time in this series, the grass glows with damp and no-one is around to admire the lacy cow parsley. There is a clump of buttercups just in front of the trees to the left; the field behind the trees  is golden with them. But I’m hurrying on to work before the rain gets heavier.
 


Update on Maths and M

For those following this story, M was at work only shortly after me this morning despite having a longer journey than almost everyone else. Mornings are very busy in our place, as everyone is allocated to work teams, but I snatched a few moments to sit next to him on the easy chairs in the hall. I said nothing, just put two fingers on one leg and two on the other.
‘Four,’ he said instantly, and grinned at me.
‘You’ve been practising at home!’
‘Yeah!’
‘Great! Catch me when you get back from work this afternoon and we’ll do a bit more.’

Afternoons are also very busy in our place and we missed each other, sadly, so I absolutely must spend time with him when he’s in on Thursday to build on these foundations. We’ll definitely get addition, subtraction, multiplication and division clear over the next few weeks, and I’ve just realised that one of our student volunteers would be brilliant with him. I must set that up.

So... perhaps it's true that no-one has ever spent time playing with numbers at his pace before. How terribly sad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.