Multiple choice

I have thought better of what was written here and have removed it. It was not good.
(Edit - see below)

......
I was shaking too much with rage to be capable of working so went for a walk in the sun with my camera instead. Very rapidly therapeutic. I even managed a smile when I saw a sitting duck basking in the grass.
 

I sit on the arm of this seat to take my weekly Grandpont Nature Park picture.



Edit - December 2018
I am writing this over three years later because I want to record an important part of my own story. I wrote it at the time, with considerably more rage, as comments show (I wish I'd kept the original text), then deleted. Time has passed and I feel this is mine to write now. I do not name the organisation nor the people involved. I didn't realise at the time but what I did today resulted in me losing my job. The sequence is held together with the tag 'Endgame'. 

Endgame 1
It concerns a social enterprise working with people trying to emerge from a difficult past - homelessness, offending, addiction, mental health problems or, usually and predictably, some combination. The organisation won contracts in grounds maintenance, painting & decorating, woodwork and cleaning and the trainees went out and did the work under the supervision of an experienced team leader. Everyone also had a support worker to help with whatever social, psychological or financial issues were coming up for them. When trainees had acquired the skills and had proved themselves reliable and job-worthy, the support workers helped them get paid work. 

I was taken on in January 2014 to develop accredited training and to enable the trainees to get recognised qualifications. I created workbooks rooted in what the trainees were actually doing so that most of the learning would happen while they were working and I got the materials approved by an exam board. None of the trainees was very keen on sitting down to do paper learning but to conform to the exam board requirements a little of that was necessary. It was easiest with woodwork because the trainees were in the workshop and could go through the workbooks a little at a time. It was much more challenging for those doing a day's work in grounds maintenance or painting and decorating.

No-one was forced to do a qualification so those who signed up were keen. It was difficult to schedule times that suited everyone but I had agreed with all concerned that some workbook training would happen today. The team leader, who I had trained to train, was going to run the session, with me on call. Some of the trainees had come in on their day off to do the training.

But the manager in charge of winning outside contracts announced this morning that the training was cancelled because he needed bodies out doing the work that brought in money. I objected. I was over-ruled. I objected more strongly. But not only were my views irrelevant, I was very clearly being insubordinate. 

The trainees went out to work or went back home.

Me? See above.

Endgame prequel
Endgame 2
Endgame 3
Endgame 4
Endgame 5

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.