Watering

Work today - bad.
Open-air swim afterwards - good. I'm glad I forced myself to go.


Edit December 2018
I am writing this over three years later because I want to record an important part of my own story. The sequence is held together with the tag 'Endgame'. 

Endgame 2
After the disaster of 13 May I very carefully rescheduled the training for today and made sure well in advance that managers, team leaders and trainees were all on board. I got in early today and started to set up the training room. The trainees arrived.

Then the manager in charge of winning outside contracts told me the training would have to be cancelled, for the same reason as last time - he needed people out doing the work that earned money. I argued. I told him he had signed up to the timings. Too bad, he said, things had changed. I said that trainees were expecting the training, that some had come in specially. He was army-officer intransigent. What he said went. I asked him why the organisation employed me if it blocked what I was employed to do. I could see he was thinking the same thing, though from a slightly different perspective. 

I appealed to my line manager, his peer in the organisation, who had also signed up to the training happening today. More fool me (especially as this was going on in an open-plan office with colleagues around to hear everything) - of course he sided with the senior person.

Once again the trainees went out to work or went back home.

Me? I realised, with huge sadness, that I'd asked the right question and that this was the endgame.

Endgame prequel
Endgame 1
Endgame 3
Endgame 4
Endgame 5

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.