Dead

"We can make Britain a place where a good life is in reach for everyone who's willing to work and do the right thing,"  David Cameron told us today. He’s right, they can. But I don’t for one moment believe that they will. Last year his government cut 38% of its funding for the sector I work in: homelessness, including helping people who want to work to access employment.
 
So I suppose that the day when the gloom was already infinite, for both me and my line manager, was, on balance, the best time for him to tell me that my salary is secure only until the end of July.
 
Who knows
where the dead
flower’s seeds
will blow.


Edit December 2018
I am writing this over three years later because I want to record an important part of my own story. The sequence is held together with the tag 'Endgame'.

Endgame prequel
The funding for my work has come from Oxfordshire County Council Community Learning. In the face of central government funding cuts, the county has decided not to provide education for adults any more and has handed the work over to a private further education college. Some of the budget remains but it has been reduced and today it was confirmed that community learning faces an across-the-board cut of over 30%.

Endgame 1
Endgame 2
Endgame 3
Endgame 4
Endgame 5

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.