Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

Meteorite Over The Minster

Well, if it was a comet it'd be Cathedral Comet but as it's a meteorite it goes better with Mosque - unless you can think of something else?

The sun didn't set until just before 9pm last night, and the wife got home about 10.20pm, so after a chat I didn't upload my sunset blip photo until just before midnight. Just after midnight, She who must be obeyed said she was tired and going to bed. She locked the rear patio door and obviously noticed the stars were out in abundance and asked if I was going out. Her training is coming on leaps and bounds. I checked and saw they were the best I'd seen them locally for well over two weeks.

A twenty minute drive saw me outside Llandaff Cathedral. The stars were out over the spire but it's an awkward thing to photograph due to the surrounding ruin and tree. What's worse for star shooting is it's lit like Blackpool illuminations which doesn't help long exposures!

Well, I took just over forty images over an hour, with different lenses, in differing locations (mainly to try and reduce the glare from all the lights) and the one I like best was taken about 1.05am - not long after I arrived there. I didn't notice until I got home but it looks like a meteorite in it. I don't recall seeing any planes and Cardiff airport doesn't fly that late.

I've posted it up early as my wife has a works function on tonight at 6pm (in works time) to receive her long service award. It's a best bib and tuck job. Nowt like having a drink and eats on the old firm!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.