Metal Guru

We were half listening to 'Midlands Today' a few nights ago when it was announced that a new Antony Gormley sculpture had been installed in the Midlands, in Lowsonford.
'Lowsonford? ' we shouted with simultaneous incredulity, THE Lowsonford? Near here?
Sir Antony Gormley, Knight of the Realm, creator of the Angel of the North and sculptor extraordinaire has placed five life sized cast iron sculptures at various beauty spots all near water around the country, four by the coast and this one in the middle.
They were commissioned to celebrate fifty years of the charity Landmark trust, and this one is by the Lengthsman's Cottage Lowsonford.
Loosecanon will also blip this today, but I know he didn't get this shot as I had to lie on my back with my head hanging over the edge of the canal, and I nearly lost my glasses into the water. I'm pretty sure I didn't see him sprawled on the ground so his will be from a different angle.
PS you can go and stay at this cottage it is available as a holiday let. Just google Lengthsmans cottage.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.