Forteviot's village square

I had to go into Perth today to clear up some loose ends. We still had two phone contracts running, for when the boys were studying in Scotland, and those are impossible to stop from abroad. I can tell you that getting a phone contract is always much easier than stopping it! Then to the bank for the same purpose. A stop at Greyfriars cemetery to capture the monument to William Farquar for my Singapore friends, and then I decided to take the other rural road home, the one I've driven so many times when I did the schoolrun for the boys. That got me past Forteviot and its pretty village square has always intrigued me, but I never had stopped to take actual pictures of it. So I did that today and with the help of PS Elements 10 and the slightest of colour pencil effect I've made it into a biscuit tin pano ;-)

Forteviot is really very old, home of Pictish kings and there have been many archeological treasures found around here. But the houses you see here are quite modern instead, built on orders of the first Lord Forteviot, the owner of Dewar's Distillery , built between 1925 and 1927 like an English garden city. I wonder if that meant people working in the distillery lived there, but as far as I know that distillery was at least 10 miles further on the other side of a hill. More about it here

Thanks very much for your kind comments and stars and even a fave for the quaint Auchterarder heritage mill wheel and willow sculpture :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.