madchickenwoman

By Madchickenwoman

Morning Dew and Pew!

I was up early at 7, and had already woken once in the night  - too much sleep yesterday afternoon! Since I could not bring myself to put Mrs Twinkle out with the rubbish and since she had been dead already for over 2 days, decided to go up to the allotment and bury her, I would just stress about having to do it all day otherwise. Coop were still shut up so I phoned the Homeopath whose duty it was and opened for her. They all seem in good health - phew! I dug a hole and was getting a strong whiff of something unpleasant - I presumed it was Mrs T. As I was covering her with soil I found the actual source - it was the dead rat I had buried the previous week - and I was kneeling on its decaying body!! Thought the digging was easy and put that down to the fact I had chosen where I placed the cuttings and digging up of docks etc from the plot!!  Which it partly was! I am creating a burial pit!!
I must admit to doing some weeding and cutting back on my new plot - it was pleasant on the allotment, mild, sunny and quiet apart from birdsong and chicken clucking! , It felt good to be out. Took the rest of the day easy, and feel alot better than I did yesterday - walk round block with Portly,aunt phoned from Canada, had my dinner at lunchtime as was hungry, supervised the chickens who seem intent on jumping in my Dahlia pots and digging them up!
So my blip is the strawberries which are in full flower on my plot - looks like its going  to be a good year for them again - so my decision not to move them was the right one - which is fortunate as have not had the time to move them even if I had wanted to! I may even get to put my potatoes in tomorrow before I put the coop chickens to bed!! Think I may be on the road to recovery - Shh! Don't tell anyone - I'm enjoying my solitude! 
A few more dewy photos here! including a dew bedecked poppy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.