Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

A Gift From RichieBoo

I have been an admirer of the photography of RichieBoo , if not from his first blip, pretty close to it.  On 21 August 2013, he posted this blip, entitled, "My Journal."  In it he wrote about his lovely handwriting, the demise of the written word and the rise of communication by email.  It had become my favorite Blip.

Our relationship thus began by me sending him my home address and him eventually (stopping to procrastinate) and sending me a really nice snail mail letter written in script.  Thus began our correspondence and friendship. 

Knowing, however, how much I loved his photograph, Richard promised to send me a print of it.  That was in 2013.  Well, you know men!  I love Richard  :-)  He kept promising and I knew he would eventually come through with something. 

A few months ago, completely out of nowhere, he let me know that the print had been made and that it was off being mounted (something I wasn't expecting!) 

The next email I received told me it was at JFK Airport in New York (he was tracking the Royal Mail!)  It didn't arrive on Monday as I expected so by Friday I decided to go to my mailbox to pick up my mail.  In the box was a receipt telling me that it was at the Post Office and had been all week.  It was raining but I rushed over and ran in. I never ran back to my car so fast.  I didn't want a drop to fall on it. 

I used my keys to open the package.  I just couldn't wait until I got home.  I wasn't disappointed.  In fact, I started to cry.  I was so moved that someone I had never met, had only corresponded with by snail and email to that point, would make such an effort for a complete stranger.

I took it to be framed and got it back today.  I think it's beautiful and the words in his blip make it even more beautiful and resonate with me.  It's probably the warmest  photograph I've ever seen.

Thank you, Richard.  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.