Rodents rule

By squirk

Reflection

A lovely sunny day spent working at home. I heard the fox cubs, but I didn't see them. There were a few kerfuffles from neighbouring gardens – I suspect the cubs.

Tonight's event was a discussion about climate change hosted by The Guardian at King's Place, with George Monbiot and George Marshall, founder of Climate Outreach. George Marshall shed light on why the issue isn't foremost in the media or in government – namely (in my not-so-elegant interpretation) our brains are wired to ignore negative and costly forecasts of the future. Although, climate change isn't in the future – it's in the past and the present. It's happening now. It really should be the most important point in the government's agenda, yet it wasn't top of the election campaign and it hardly ever reaches the front pages of the news.

He voiced an example of Hilary Clinton visiting part of an Arctic shelf collapse in Norway in a morning with climate scientists and being suitably horrified, then meeting oil guys in the afternoon and signing off deals to drill in the part of the Arctic that's been freed from ice because of climate change. 

The Guardian has a campaign to keep oil in the ground: Keep It In The Ground. I don't have shares, but I have a pension fund that might help some oil guys. I'll find out some more.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.