Rodents rule

By squirk

Holly blue

This little butterfly has been fluttering around since the weekend, and I've finally caught him resting. He was right at the top of the plum tree so I'm chuffed to get a shot as sharp as this. I also spied my first speckled wood of the year. It's lovely to see the butterflies out and about, although the holly blue and the speckled wood are the only two species I see. I have planted more butterfly-friendly plants, so let's see what happens this year. After all, it took 13 years to attract the goldfinches, and now they're a permanent feature (as long as I have the sunflower hearts).

I popped into my local café for lunch and to show them the Shine-a-Lights. They might, just might, stock them if the numbers work out OK. They have such gorgeous gifts in their shop and it would be marvellous to have my books there. Of course, there's self-interest, because it would mean that if I needed one for a present, I could walk to the end of my road to buy one! 

I finished the book I bought a couple of days ago. When I turned the last page, my eyes filled with tears, which took me completely by surprise. I hadn't thought the book was affecting me that much, but clearly it did. It's one to ponder over - sweet and sad, but not sad in the way that I feared, which I was relieved about. I don't want to give much away for anyone about to read it. I certainly recommend it.

Fred and I tried a new cinema tonight, the East Dulwich Picturehouse. It's only 10 minutes away by train, so it's really close. That's three cinemas within a 20 minutes' radius, which is great! We went to see Our Kind of Traitor, which was entertaining, but felt like a TV film. It wasn't quite sharp enough or slick enough to make it great. The start didn't grip immediately and my attention wondered a few times.

This morning's foxes: Skinny, followed by Bushy-Black. BB also visited in the afternoon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.