wander, stumble, wonder

By imo_weg

The kindness of strangers

On Sunday I went to a small parish in northern Tasmania to collect some door snakes (draught stoppers) the parishioners had knitted as part of a statewide project. They'll be given to low-income Tasmanians this winter, to keep their power bills just a little lower, and their houses a little warmer. I'd been asked along to formally receive them on the behalf of my work, and was told there would be about 12 or so.

I turned up, and there was a table piled high with door snakes, and more walking (with some help) through the door as I watched. 27 in total. From a parish of 50.

They've been made with love and care, and have such detail like these glasses, another with a hat and pearls, or big floppy ears a small child will love.

It's days like this I really love my job, and am filled with joy at the kindness of strangers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.