Danksound's Musing

By Danksound

Chicks Hatched

It was a beautiful day and I decided to go up to the Pond to check on the Swan and her eggs.  They had finally hatched and were all in the nest with their mum.  All seven eggs were successfully hatched and I was delighted to see them when she moved and they all gradually moved out from underneath her.  I was there some time just enjoying the weather when two of the chicks decided to move beyond their nest.  A nearby Coot was trying to steal nesting material from the Swans nest to build its own nest and the Swan got really upset at the interference.  She stood up to hiss at the Coot and suddenly the rest of the chicks started to move towards the two that had already gone into the water.  Mother Swan raised up and marched straight into the water and everyone left the nest altogether.  Yay...   I have included three other shots of the event. 

Day 3 on Super Charge me

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.