Photography Awards

I went to Somerset House in London today to visit the Sony World Photography Awards exhibition.  It was a very large exhibition, spread over two wings of the building.  I reckon I spent almost two hours in the first part and might have done better to visit the second part on another day.  There is only so much you can look at in one visit!

However, after a break for a coffee, and to photograph the photographers in the courtyard, I managed to work my way around the second part as well.

As has been the case in the past, I enjoyed the "Open" section rather more than the "Professional" section - perhaps because the images were more pictorial and a little closer to the type of photography I attempt myself.  However, the most entertaining section was dedicated to the American photographer Elliot Erwitt who won an award for Oustanding Contribution to Photography.  There was a display of his photographs, plus a filmed interview with the man himself.  Many of the images were highly amusing, as was the film.  He has a great sense of gentle humour which is obvious in much of his photography.

I hope the young lady in the courtyard was pleased with her picture of the fountains.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.