Industrial Revolution

Today Jane and I did different things.  I will let Jane tell her story but while she was hob-nobbing with retired sporting legends I went to Quarry Bank mill in Manchester.

This National Trust restored cotton mill featured in the BBC drama called 'The Mill'.  It was most interesting and I virtually had the place to myself.

This spinning machine is a direct descendent of Arkwright's Spinning Jenny and it's larger cousin the Spinning Mule.   Much of the equipment is in working order and the staff run it to demonstrate how it worked.  

Despite the terrible working conditions where children were employed and many of the workers developed lung disease,  the owners recognised the need to keep the workers healthy and there was an on-site dental surgery

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.