Capturing my Journey

By thedoglady

Run like the wind

The dogs enjoying a blast in the stock free silage field this afternoon.

Changeover day. Houses where lovely and clean. However the wee cottage that is let this week also doesn't seem to be receiving from the sky dish and there is no dial tone on the phone. The septic tank was blocked and the toilet seat was needing replaced. And the calf still wont sook.

I had to give a friend one of my runner ducks this morning as one of the pair that I sold her last year got run over yesterday.

On the plus side passed another unit on my diploma and the kelpie that belongs to friend that I have been helping (only one session) has made some progress so I have been told. Not sure its due to me though!

For once I wish we lived in the town so I could get a takeaway for dinner tonight. Instead I will have to cook something!

8c 10mph S Heavy rain/hail showers.

Any Fool Can Be a Farmer - Henry Brewis

Any fool can be a farmer
in fact it helps no end
to be a little crazy
and half-way round the bend
its not essential to be crackers
good gracious not at all
but its no good being normal
while you're climbing up the wall...
if you cant meet these requirements
no need to break your heart
'cos you'll quickly get the hang of things
once you get a start
if the weather doesn't beat you down
itll be an awkward yow
or a brainless politician
or an old demented cow
or a collie dog that's useless
one that drives you quite insane
but you'll get there if you're lucky
and you'll feel the pain
you'll have diseases in your barley
and pigeons on your wheat
temperamental old machinery
and a Labrador on heat...
but by now you'll be conditioned
you'll accept that you're just mad
and you'll never swop the townie
for his posh suburban pad
let him keep his indexed pension
and his room without a view
but be sure to marry someone
who is crazy just like you.... 

Whilst looking for a book this afternoon I found some of the Henry Brewis books I have. He was a famer who began writing poems and illustrations/cartoons about countryside pursuits and farming. He has nailed it so well and makes me laugh every time I read his books as they are so so true!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.