Black Mountains Blips

By Hanneke3

Y Gaer

An ancient hillfort in the Black Mountains and possibly my most favourite place there.

I haven't been cycling much, I haven't been Blipping much but I have been working on lots of current and future work projects. The problem about being freelance is that you spend as much energy finding jobs as you do doing them!

So as I managed to get on top of my garden work, as well as the job I am doing designing a garden and planting plan, I decided to try going out on the bike today. I took the mountain bike, as I felt much stronger on it when I went to visit some open mills last week than I do on my cross bike.

The plan was to stick to the road. Then I wanted to go and picvk some St Georges mushrooms... so I ended up pedalling up a very steep bit of tarmac. After picking the mushrooms, I thought I'd push for the ridge and walk up the hillfort. I managed to cycle half of the climb, with which I am pleased. I only ever managed to cycle the whole way when racing fit.

I enjoyed the views, rode down and along the ridge, then back to the road in the next valley and back along the road.

Very satisfying two hours on the bike and I enjoyed it! While on the road on the cross bike, I feel frustrated and deflated about my lack of fitness. I think it helped I stopped for foraging and photo's along the way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.