1/7/52/365

By nonsuchtony

Short Circuit

I was first taken to watch stock car when I was too young to know about it. My parents took me to Wisbech Stadium when I was probably three or four.

I spent most Sunday afternoons during the Summer months during the seventies with my mum, sister, brother and the rest of the extended family watching my dad race Hot Rods predominantly at Mill Hill raceway but also Swaffham, Kings Lynn, Watton, Norwich and I think once or twice at Snetterton.

Over the years as a family we travelled to Spededworth tracks at Wimbledon, Yarmouth and regularly to Ipswich Foxhall ... the Spedeweekend during the seventies and eighties being completely crazy events with on and off track battles between England and the rest of the UK...

Other tracks we visited were Boston, Northampton, Skegness and Hendesford

So now I live five minutes from Foxhall, I don't go that often anymore as it always seems on when something else is on. Tonight's formula, bangers, stock cars and superstox provided a great nights entertainment.

Superstox probably still remain my favorite formula, they still look broadly the same as they did forty years ago, they still race to win and they still happily use the front bumpers.

Oh and sadly many of the above stadiums have been sold to developers. Wisbech has long gone and Mill Hill raceway that was run by my uncle returned to a field.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.